Science and Innovation Committee

Mission of the Committee is to identify and define the innovation branch in Finland and the most significant phenomena for it. The Committee aims to run a diverse discussion on the issue from different point of views in order that Technology Academy Finland for its part can promote the issue on a most prominent way for Finland.

The Committee acts like a think tank, meetings are being held at least two times a year.

Chair of the committee

  • Janne Laine, Aalto University



  • Risto Nieminen, Aalto University
  • Minna Palmroth, University of Helsinki
  • Jukka Mönkkönen, University of Eastern Finland
  • Markku Kivikoski, University of Tampere
  • Mika Hannula, University of Turku

Trade and industry

  • Laura Juvonen, Federation of Finnish Technology Industries
  • Riikka Heikinheimo, Confederation of Finnish Industries EK
  • Petri Takala, Academic Engineers and Architects TEK
  • Lars Peter Lindfors, Neste
  • Hannu Kauppinen, Nokia
  • Timo Vuori, International Chamber of Commerce
  • Liisa Åström, Vaisala
  • Kaija Pehu-Lehtonen, Metsä Group
  • Tarja Takki-Halttunen, Halton
  • Harri Junttila, Alma Talent

Science academies

  • Markku Leskelä, Finnish Academy of Technical Sciences
  • Leni von Bonsdorff, The Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences in Finland

Public sector and decision makers

  • Mikko Dufva, Sitra
  • Mika Lautanala, Business Finland
  • Ilona Lundström, Ministry of Employment and the Economy
  • Erja Heikkinen, Ministry of Education and Culture
  • Riitta Maijala, Academy of Finland
  • Jarmo Sareva, Ministry for Foreign Affairs
  • Päivi Sillanaukee, Ministry for Foreign Affairs
  • Antti Pelkonen,  Prime Minister’s Office
  • Outi Alanko-Kahiluoto, Parliament of Finland

Secretary: Markku Ellilä, Technology Academy Finland