Communication Committee

The Communication Committee’s mission is to highlight the importance of research, knowledge and innovation for the well-being and future development of society, and to promote Finland as a high-tech country. The Committee is chaired by the Director of Communications of the Academy of Finland. The members of the Committee represent Finnish Universities, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Sitra (the Finnish Independency Fund), Business Finland, TEK (Academic Engineers and Architects in Finland), Healthtech Finland and the Millennium Technology Prize partner organisations.


Chair of the Committee:

  • Riitta Tirronen, Director of Communications, Academy of Finland


  • Eeva Atangana, Senior Communications Specialist, Outotec
  • Katja Ayres, Director of Communications, Tampere University
  • Nina Eklund, Director, Corporate Communications and Brand, Vaisala
  • Thurid Eriksson, Director of Communications, Åbo Akademi University
  • Heli Harri, Communications Manager, Nokia
  • Saara Hassinen, CEO, Healthtech Finland
  • Veera Heinonen, Director of Communications, Sitra
  • Susanna Hovi-Skrifvars, Communications Manager, Halton
  • Marja Jokinen, Director of Communications, University of Oulu
  • Johanna Kotkajärvi, Deputy Director General, Ministry for Foreign Affair
  • Tomi Korhonen, Executive Director, Communications, BusinessFinland
  • Juha Laine, Senior Vice President, Communications, MetsäGroup
  • Laura Manas, Comminications Manager, Technology Academy Finland
  • Aleksi Moisio, Communications Manager, FIM
  • Johanna Pellinen, Communications Manager, University of Helsinki
  • Anne Paasi, Director of Communications, University of Turku
  • Susanna Sieppi, Director of Communications and Brand Marketing, Neste
  • Merina Salminen, Director of Communications, TEK
  • Anu Salmi-Savilampi, Senior Communications Manager, Aalto University
  • Eeva Sievi, COO, Technology Academy Finland
  • Minna Zaknoun, Admin, Technology Academy Finland