Technology Academy Finland (TAF) awards the biennial Millennium Technology Prize and runs associated events and initiatives.

TAF’s agenda:

    • Voicing public debate on the significance of technology and promoting innovations for a better life
    • Providing a neutral collaboration forum for business, academia and governmental organizations
    • Encouraging young people to study and choose a career in technology

One of TAF’s strengths is the tripartite cooperation between industry, governmental organizations and the scientific community and its extensive network in all these sectors. The three sectors are also represented in the TAF Board and in the different committees.

TAF started operating under the name of the Finnish Technology Award Foundation in 2003. In 2005, the name changed to the Millennium Prize Foundation. The name was changed to the Technology Academy Finland in 2008, and meanwhile the Finnish Technology Academy TTA and Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences in Finland STV incorporated.


Our values:



Technological innovations serve the common good, build bridges across cultural boundaries, generate new markets and better opportunities for everyone.







Research-based knowledge

Science and technology generate research-based knowledge which lays the ground for the sustainable well-being of society and its citizens.








Innovations, technology and science play a crucial role in solving the grand challenges of the world. (Adequate food, energy and materials, a clean environment, and combatting serious illnesses are all issues we must not take for granted.)






Better future

Breakthrough innovations change the world to the better. Borderless collaboration is crucial for transforming revolutionary ideas and findings into innovations that promote the smart and sustainable future for all.