Awarding ceremony of scholarships and prizes

Technology Academy Finland annually organizes an invitational awarding ceremony of scholarships and prizes for research and development in the field of engineering. The awarding ceremony will be organized for the ninth time by TAF on April 4, 2017.

See full list of the awarded scholarships here.


Speakers at the event




Kati Hagros

Chief Digital Officer in Aalto University

Kati Hagros is responsible for Aalto’s digitalisation strategy, digital transformation and IT services. She’s also Board Member at Tokmanni Oyj, Siili Solutions Oyj and Nixu Oyj. Before Aalto, she served in various leadership positions in logistics, e-business, strategy, quality and IT at Kone and at Nokia.

Hagros’s speech material can be found here.






Leena Ukkonen

Professor and Academy Research Fellow, Tampere University of Technology

Leena Ukkonen is heading Wireless Identification and Sensing Systems Research Group in the Faculty of Biomedical Sciences and Engineering. Prof. Ukkonen and her team actively collaborate with international research partners, such as UC Berkeley, UCLA, UCSF, Georgia Tech and Tsinghua University.

Ukkonen’s presentation material can be found in TAF’s Slideshare.






Harri-Valpola-greyscaleHarri Valpola

CEO, The Curious Al Company

Harri Valpola started his career in 1993 working for neural networks pioneer Teuvo Kohonen. Dr. Valpola has more than two decades of background in machine learning, neuroscience and robotics. In 2007, he co-founded ZenRobotics which develops intelligent learning robots to sort waste. In 2015, he founded the Curious AI Company which develops core technologies for artificial intelligence.




Awarders of scholarships and prizes in 2017



Further information:

Office Manager Satu Haapio, Technology Academy Finland TAF
Tel. +358 50 305 4250,